English-Speaking Cultures – Englische Sprachwissenschaft

Supervision

Write your BA thesis in English Linguistics!

The following staff members (in alphabetical order) are happy to supervise your BA and/or MA and PhD theses and are looking forward to your informed proposals. Please contact the respective member of staff directly.

Prof. Dr. phil. John A. Bateman

Anglistik / Angewandte Sprachwissenschaft m. d. Schwerpunkt Übersetzungswissenschaft und Linguistische Datenverarbeitung
Büro: GW 2, A 3480
Telefon: 0421 218-68120
Sprechzeiten: Montags, 16:00 – 17:00 Uhr
E-Mail: bateman@uni-bremen.de
Sekretariat: Kettler, Sonja | GW 2, A 3550 | 0421 218-68053 | skettler@uni-bremen.de

Prof. Dr. Marcus Callies

  • Lexico-grammatical variation in English
  • Innovation and change in Present-Day English
  • Second Language Acquisition Research
  • Learner Corpus Research
  • Contrastive Linguistics
  • Metaphor in language and thought
  • The language of sports

Büro: GW 2, A 3400
Telefon: 0421 218-68150
Sprechzeiten: Do. 11:00-13:00 Uhr
E-Mail: callies@uni-bremen.de
Sekretariat: Schultze, Reinhilt | GW 2, A 3450 | 0421 218-68062 | schultze@uni-bremen.de

Dr. phil. Inke Du Bois

  • Sociolinguistics
  • Gender and language
  • Discourse Analysis
  • Intercultural communication
  • Language in migration contexts
  • Multilingualism
  • Language in the media

Büro: GW 2, A 3610
Telefon: 0421 218-68187
Sprechzeiten: Montags, 11:00 – 12:00 Uhr
E-Mail: dubois@uni-bremen.de

Dr. phil. Anke Schulz

  • Systemic Functional Grammar of English and German
  • Contrastive Linguistics English-German
  • Systemic Functional Grammar and corpus studies
  • Systemic Functional Grammar in teaching (genre pedagogy)
  • Translation studies
  • Lexico-grammatical variation in World Englishes

Büro: GW 2, A 3380
Telefon: 0421 218-68190
Sprechzeiten: Mittwochs, 13:00 – 14:00 Uhr sowie nach Vereinbarung per Email
E-Mail: anke.schulz@uni-bremen.de

Leonie Wiemeyer

  • Writing in a foreign/second language
  • English for academic purposes
  • Learner corpus research
  • English in Australia and New Zealand
  • Language in social media/Web 2.0
  • Morphology, (creative) word-formation and neology
  • Hip-Hop language

Büro: GW 2, A 3410
Telefon: 0421 218-68304
Sprechzeiten: nach Vereinbarung per E-Mail
E-Mail: wiemeyer@uni-bremen.de